Celebrating Year One…onto Year Two!

A Year in Review

What an amazing first year I have had building Reaching a Fork in the Road.  I have spent some  time reviewing and reflecting on the year and wanted to share some of my favorite accomplishments (in no particular order):

  • As a consultant for Mass Housing I have helped Norwood, Barnstable, Mashpee, Cambridge, Middleborough, and Brockton plan and develop hoarding task forces.
  • I taught Social Work 101 at Salem State University
  • I ran 2 Clear the Clutter from Your Life, six week support groups , the members are still meeting once a month for on-going support
  • I have had the pleasure and honor of working with clients and witnessing some real change and accomplishment!
  • I have continued my education in motivational interviewing, value based coaching, mindfulness, and cognitive behavior therapy.
  • I have met with Dr. Christiana Bratiotis, at Boston University, for consulation and continued growth in the area of working with individuals who hoard
  • Panelist at Department of Mental Health Conference, Hoarding and Risk Management
  • Presented a workshop at the MA Association for Advancement of Group Work Conference “Older Adults and groups”
  • Committee member for SWRI Initiative, NASW – speaker at high schools to encourage young adults to consider social work as a career
  • Member of Home Based Business Women’s Network

I am amazed at how much I have been able to squeeze into the first year of my business. I feel energized and excited at the prospect of what is to come as I embark on year 2!   I would like to thank my colleques and friends for your support, and referrals.

Starting Year 2 

My goal for year 2 is to bring more of a focus to the work I am doing by  clearly defining what it is I do and who is a potential client …. I know what I do, but do you?

I love coaching, but I will also be testing for my LICSW at some point during year 2.  I will be finding a way to use both coaching and social work practices to best meet the needs of older adults.

I am also ready to hire or partner with someone to grow the business.

Here we go – Cheers to year 2!

This entry was posted in Support Groups. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

